How do I find out how much I owe for property taxes?
When are property taxes due?
The taxes may be paid in full by December 31st of each year or if paid in one-half
installments, the first half is due on October 1st and becomes delinquent if not
paid by 5:00 p.m. November 1st. The second half is then due on March 1st and becomes
delinquent if not paid by 5:00 p.m. May 1st of the following year. Taxes under $100.00 must
be paid by December 1st.
What is the interest fee for delinquent taxes?
The interest is 16% "simple" annually and is charged at .013333% at the beginning of
every month. Note: If you come to pay delinquent taxes on the 2nd of the month you
will be paying interest for the full month.
Do you send out more than one tax bill in a year?
No. We mail out one tax bill the latter part of September. If you have not received
your tax bill by October 1st, please call our office at:
If I do not get a tax bill who is responsible?
It is the tax payers responsibility. If you have any questions please call our office.
Do I have to pay interest if I do not receive a tax bill?
Yes, although the Treasurer makes every effort to mail a tax bill to all property
owners, the Arizona Revised Statues does not require the Treasurer to do so.
My mortgage company is supposed to pay my taxes does the Treasurer send a bill to
the mortgage company?
The Mortgage Company may contact the Treasurer’s Office to obtain information
required for processing a payment.
What happens if property taxes go delinquent?
If the taxes are not paid before January of the following year a $5.00 or 5% penalty
is assessed. The delinquent taxes are advertised in the local county newspaper. In
February a lien is placed on the property for the amount of the outstanding taxes,
interest and penalties. This lien is called a “Certificate
Does the County sell my house if my taxes are delinquent?
When taxes are delinquent, a Tax Lien Sale is held to offer a tax lien certificate
at public auction. This does not give anyone the right to enter or take possession
of the property. If taxes are delinquent for a period of 5 years the purchaser has
a right to foreclose on his/her lien. Seven years from the date taxes go delinquent,
statutes require that the County foreclose on the tax lien in behalf of the
State of Arizona.
Why did my property taxes go up?
Your tax bill is a calculation of the Limited Property Value (LPV) multiplied by the
Tax Rate. Increases can occur due to either or both, increase property value or higher
budget demands from the jurisdictions who receive property tax dollars.
I sold this property, what should I do with the bill?
- Forward the bill to the new owner so they know there are taxes owing; or
- Mark the envelope “sold” and return it to the Treasurer's Office.
I am a new owner of this property; why am I being billed for the entire year?
Property taxes are assessed against the property, not the person. The Treasurer’s
Office does not pro-rate taxes between new and prior owners. However, during the
closing of a typical real estate transaction, tax amounts are pro-rated between
buyer and seller by the Escrow Company. You may want to confirm this by checking
your closing statement or by contacting your escrow company.
May I pay my taxes with a credit or debit card?
Yes, you may pay your taxes with a credit or debit card (See Treasurer's Office - Payment
Options menu item listing).